follow me on twitter  

Hello and welcome to Yoga Lighthouse

Namaste... My name is Julie Robinson and I am pleased to welcome you to the Yoga Light House website.

If you are new to Yoga or a more experienced Yogi or Yogini, please take a look at the details of my classes and forthcoming retreats for 2015. Please feel free to contact me if you would like any further information or sign up here to receive my newsletter. .

What is Yoga?

"Yoga believes in transforming the individual before transforming the world. Whatever change we want to happen outside should happen within. If you walk in peace and express that peace in your very life, others will see you and learn something." - Sri Swami Satchidananda

The word yoga comes from the Sanskrit word YUJ meaning to yoke or bind. This is often interpreted as union of the body, mind and spirit, or a method of discipline. The Indian sage Patanjali collated the practice of yoga into 195 statements presented as the Yoga Sutras around 2000 years ago. This serves as a philosophical guidebook for most of the yoga we practice today. There are eight limbs of yogas as outlined by Patanjali. These are:

  • Yamas - restraints

  • Niyamas - observances

  • Asana - postures

  • Pranayama - breathing

  • Pratyahara - sense withdrawal

  • Dharana - concentration

  • Dhyana - meditation

  • Samadhi - absorption
Through yogic practices in our lives we can begin to explore this eightfold path and through changing our behaviour outwardly and refining our focus inwardly we can move closer to liberation and enlightenment or Samadhi.

In the modern world of today most people practicing yoga focus on asana (hatha yoga), pranayama and meditation.